Heart Health

As I wrote about earlier, I have decided to focus on hearth health, rather than weight loss, but I didn’t really go into why, exactly, I decided this.

My mother’s father died from complications due to congestive heart failure. My mother’s mother had to have open heart surgery when I was a kid (I can’t remember for what, exactly, but I know that they put a vein from her leg into her heart and she had to take nitro for the rest of her life).

And, when my mom was 43, she suffered a sudden, massive heart attack and died in front of my sister, me, and our dad. We didn’t know her heart was bad at the time. Looking back, you can always see things and it’s easy to try to blame yourself about it. If you had just recognized the symptoms of heart disease in women. If you had just realized that she was overweight, diabetic, and had high blood pressure she was at risk for heart issues. If only. It can drive you mad. It’s taken me years to get to the point that the “if only”s don’t drive me insane with guilt.

Anyway, I obviously have a very strong family history for heart disease, especially if you look at how both my mom’s parents were diabetic, and my dad’s mother was also diabetic.

So I decided to focus on heart health instead of weight loss. I figure that weight loss/fitness will come with the heart health.

My goal is to workout 3 times a week for at least 30 minutes each day and work my way up to more than that. However, if I’m feeling bad because of my emotional state, then I don’t workout because it can be triggering to my anorexia.

 

Here’s a link talking about the minimal standards the CDC/ACSM Consensus Statement and Surgeon General’s physical activity recommendations:

http://circ.ahajournals.org/content/107/1/e2.full#sec-5 — Possible trigger warnings there for talk of calories.

Every American adult should participate in 30 minutes or more of moderate intensity activity on most, and preferably all, days of the week.

  • Moderate activities: activities comparable to walking briskly at about 3 to 4 miles per hour; may include wide variety of occupational or recreational activities, including yard work, household tasks, cycling, swimming, etc.

So, there you go. That’s why I’ve changed my focus.

Leave a Reply

