Trigger Warning: Vogue Writer Publicly Humiliates Seven-Year-Old Daughter on Diet

Like I said, trigger warning. I found the article to be mildly triggering and I was prepared for it so be warned.

 

Okay, so there’s this writer for Vogue. She admits to having issues with food: obsessive dieting, fasting, laxative use, and so on. Her little seven-year-old daughter gets diagnosed by her doctor as being “clinically obese.” Rather than doing something that is mentally healthy for the child to help her lose weight, her mother becomes super obsessed with her food intake, going as far as denying the girl dinner one day because she has 800 calories at school for French Heritage Day; not letting her have Pizza Friday at school ’cause the girl has a corn salad one day as a side dish; berating and throwing away the girl’s Starbucks hot chocolate when the worker didn’t know the exact calories in the drink; yelling at and berating the girl for accepting “unhealthy” snacks from the girl’s friends’ parents; shaming her at parties for wanting cake and a cookie; and so on.

How did Bea feel at the end of this? From Vogue:

For Bea, the achievement is bittersweet. When I ask her if she likes how she looks now, if she’s proud of what she’s accomplished, she says yes…Even so, the person she used to be still weighs on her. Tears of pain fill her eyes as she reflects on her yearlong journey. “That’s still me,” she says of her former self. “I’m not a different person just because I lost sixteen pounds.” I protest that, indeed, she is different. At this moment, that fat girl is a thing of the past. A tear rolls down her beautiful cheek, past the glued-in feather. “Just because it’s in the past,” she says, “doesn’t mean it didn’t happen.”

That paragraph breaks my heart. Apparently the article doesn’t once talk about the mother taking the child to a park to play, riding a bike with the kid, or doing any other healthy, fun physical activity with the kid. Just the obsession with the kid’s food.
I really hope that this doesn’t damage the girl’s relationship with food for the rest of her life but I have this sickening feeling that it likely will.
Link:
11 thoughts on “Trigger Warning: Vogue Writer Publicly Humiliates Seven-Year-Old Daughter on Diet

  1. Oh, that is so awful. That’s going to leave the poor girl with food issues 😦

    • I know 😦 I feel so awful for that poor little girl.

      Reading stuff like this makes me that much firmer in my decision not to have kids. With my struggle with eating, food, and how I was raised, I could see myself doing something like that without meaning to.

      • You’re right to think that way. I used to think that I gave my son a good diet regardless of my own problems, but now I look back I remember times where I stopped solid food and put him back on formula milk if I thought he was gaining too much. I never, *ever* intended to do that, and I’m glad that he won’t remember because it was so early in his life.

        Until looking back at my history I thought I did a pretty good job of hiding this from him; and instead my disordered brain made me inflict it on him when I didn’t want to 😦

      • That’s exactly what I’d be afraid of. It seems like it’d be pretty unavoidable unless you were seeing a psychologist trained in such things, to provide support and advice when your brain tells you to do those things. But, you’re right and he won’t remember it and it doesn’t seem like any real harm was done.

      • Definitely no ill-effects; my Thunderguts can outeat most people and genuinely loves food. In spite of his limitations he’s even learning to cook a little; he loves pitching in with baking and his knife skills are amazingly coordinated. I think he even makes his own cups of tea these days.

        I’m almost glad that long-term foster care was the only answer for he and I. I dread to think what my ED might have done to him over the years.

        I’ve never even told anybody this before, because I’ve been so ashamed. He might never remember, but I’ll never forget or forgive myself 😦

      • I think it’s great he’s learning to cook a little! Food can be a great creative outlet (so I’m told). B loves baking, totally adores it, he’s always wanting to make cookies or cakes or something and he wants to make our wedding cake(s).

        Oh, hon, it’s not your fault. I know that seeing/hearing that doesn’t really help erase the guilt you feel but you’re ill. You would not have done that to him on purpose.

  2. if it doesn’t damage her realtionship with food it will certainly damage her long term relationship with her mother

  3. Jen Busseau says:

    It is so horrific how this mother wounded her child. My mom was my most trusted person in my whole world until I reached my teens. Parents inevitably say and do things that leave us questioning ourselves but this…this is abusive and brutal. It churned my stomach to even read. To damage your kid so badly…it seems like we all agree that that poor little girl is scarred for life. I feel terrible for her.

Leave a Reply

