Study: Being Fat Isn’t a Death Sentence

“A recent study recruited almost 12,000 people of varying BMIs and followed them for 170 months as they adopted healthier habits. Their conclusion? Healthy lifestyle habits are associated with a significant decrease in mortality regardless of baseline body mass index.”

http://thesocietypages.org/socimages/2012/04/16/evidence-that-fat-people-can-be-as-healthy-as-thin-people/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+SociologicalImagesSeeingIsBelieving+%28Sociological+Images%3A+Seeing+Is+Believing%29

 

So…yeah. HAES says this and, look, a really long, comprehensive study proving it. BAM! You don’t have to be super skinny to be healthy and live longer. You just have to make an effort to live healthy — get out, move around, make some positive changes in your life but don’t obsess!

8 thoughts on “Study: Being Fat Isn’t a Death Sentence

  1. Missus Tribble says:

    Would you believe that the last three weeks of enforced inactivity has led me to rediscover the joys of food over my choice of food avoidance? I’ve been stuffing myself lately and haven’t gained an ounce since last month!

    I think I must be getting better 🙂

    • That’s great! I think I saw that on your blog. I’m glad you’re enjoying food again. Life is too short to hate food, it should be a happy thing (which is easier said than done, honestly).

      Sounds like you’re on the road to recovery.

      • Missus Tribble says:

        I have good days and bad days. Sometimes I will fill up on wine because I can’t stand the idea of anything foodlike in my stomach, and other days I’m all “FEED ME!” so it’s still a little bit swings and roundabouts.

        However, it’s reached a point now where the guilt I feel after a good dinner is very quickly replaced by that satisfied, full-up, content feeling.

      • Good days and bad days are part of it all. Are you going to see the ED clinic doctors still? I would have if I’d been able to afford it.

        And, it’s great that you’re able to replace the guilt with positive feelings most of the time too. ❤

      • Missus Tribble says:

        Ironically my appointment with the ED team is on May 15th – the day after our wedding! I thought about moving it, but decided that, after my initial appointment somehow never reached me, it would seem ungrateful when they’ve found a way ti fit me in as soon as they can.

        I wish you had a medical service like we have the NHS here. I could pay to go private, but I don’t have to.

        The guilt is definitely lessening. Ironically I have a lot of food bloggers following me (probably because of my pickling) and their recipes make me Very Hungry – so in a sense I have them to thank for reminding me that food is supposed to be fun and not a chore or something to be scared of 🙂

      • Oh, wow, good luck! I can see why you wouldn’t want to cancel even though it’s not a convenient time to see the ED clinic. I’m glad that you’re keeping the appointment; who knows when they’d be able to get you in next.

        I wish we had some sort of thing like NHS too. Obamacare is a start — it doesn’t really help ME ’cause I can’t afford to pay anything monthly but it’s a start. Too bad the Republicans rabidly want to repeal it.

        It’s kinda funny how many food blogs follow you. I bet the pickling is why, yeah. And, I gotta say, nothing makes me hungrier than looking at nicely photographed food with recipes attached. Nom, nom, nom.

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    Great post. Once I got over my bulimia/anorexia, years years beyond – as in, now, – I easily KNOW that you don’t have to be skinny to be healthy, but rather, to make wise choices of balance. Well said! N’n. VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com / WordsFallFromMyEyes.wordpress.com

    • It can be really difficult to remember that you don’t HAVE to be skinny to be healthy. I’m reading Health at Every Size (I read books like this reaaaaally slowly) and it’s opened my eyes to a lot of the weird, messed up things people do to be “skinny.”

Leave a Reply

