Foodbank Poor Slow Cooker Chicken – Recipe by Me

The food bank gave us a cut of chicken I’m normally not fond of due to texture and they also gave us rice, carrots, and potatoes. So I had to get creative. This is what I came up with:

1 cup cooked chicken, shredded

2 cans chicken broth/stock

3 or 4 potatoes, cut into bite-sized pieces (skin or no skin; dealer’s choice)

4 stalks celery, sliced

3 carrots, sliced

1 cup non-instant rice

1 can corn

1 clove garlic, minced

1 teaspoon sage

1 tablespoon parsley

1/2 teaspoon rosemary

  1. Set up your crock pot and put in the rice on the bottom.
  2. Pour in 1 can of chicken broth.
  3. Wash and chop up veggies and garlic.
  4. Add veggies (including canned corn, drained), garlic, spices, and cooked chicken to crock pot. Add remaining can of chicken broth.
  5. Cook on high for 4-6 hours or on low for 6-8 hours, until carrots, potatoes, and rice is soft. Serve with bread if desired

It’s sort of gloopy and not really soupy but it’s tasty and very cheap (even if you have to buy the carrots, potatoes, and chicken). Let me know if you try it. I was just guessing how much of the sage, parsley, and rosemary I added because I just threw in what looked right to me.

2 thoughts on “Foodbank Poor Slow Cooker Chicken – Recipe by Me

  1. Cyn says:

    sounds yummy I am making chicken breast in the crock pot with spaghetti sauce onions peppers
    mushrooms and garlic so I can serve it over pasta tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

