US Thanksgiving Reminder

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving in the US. I just wanted to say:

You’re allowed to eat.

You’re allowed to eat as much or as little as you want.

You’re allowed to eat WHAT you want and what makes you feel good.

You don’t have to justify your food choices to anyone, including yourself.

This all applies no matter what your body looks like.

I hope you all have a good Thanksgiving with whomever you choose (or don’t) to spend the day with. My fiance and I are going to eat with D and her family because she asked us to. She didn’t want us being alone, which I thought was sweet.

4 thoughts on “US Thanksgiving Reminder

  1. Jen Busseau says:

    Excellent advice and very apt for this time of year. Everyone I have chatted with be it neighbors or people at the grocery store all talk about not wanting to over-do it food wise during the holidays. We have such a weird relationship with eating as Americans. I have so much more peace about myself now that I don’t force myself to limit my consumption of foods I enjoy. I actually eat a lot LESS now as a result, I have a better sense of being full and don’t rely on food for non-hunger related emotional support the same way I used to. When it’s cold I still want to hibernate snuggled next to a carton of icecream but that has more to do with the fact that I might be part bear, lol.

    • Thank you. So many people are so freaked out about how much they eat this time of year. It’s really not THAT big of a deal to eat a lot every once and a while. And eating what you want when you want really helps your body regulate your weight and moods better. Like you said, less reliance on food as an emotional crutch, also. I think I’m part bear too. I always get very sleepy this time of year.

  2. Hello, I’ve jut nominated you for the Blog Of The Year 2012 award. Congratulations, and please see my blog for the award and the “rules” 🙂

Leave a Reply

