Rosario Dawson Quote

I found this quote here and thought it was really powerful:

“I remember when I was doing Rent and I was too thin, and I was doing that on purpose because I’m dying, I’m a HIV+ drug addict. I remember having to eat raw food and doing all this work to make sure I could stay thin… And I remember everyone asking me when I was doing press for the movie, ‘what did you do to get so thin? You looked great!’ and I’m like, ‘I looked emaciated.’

“It’s a form of violence in the way that we look at women and how we expect them to look and be, for… what’s sake? Not health, not survival, not enjoyment of life, but just so that you can look ‘pretty.’

“I’m constantly telling girls all the time, ‘everything’s airbrushed, everything’s retouched, to the point of just that it’s never even asked, and none of us look like that.’”

Rosario Dawson

I think it’s really refreshing to see an actress criticize how the media treats women’s* bodies and how weight is treated by the media in general.

2 thoughts on “Rosario Dawson Quote

  1. Thank you again for your questions, comments, and join the
    diet News discussion! Motivation is what gets us all started, but it has proven successful in building solid muscle mass.

    • I’m 99% sure this is spam, but in case it isn’t, I need to call you out on this insensitive comment. Did you even READ the post you posted to? You posted UNSOLICITED dieting “advice” to a blog run by me (someone who is recovering from an eating disorder!) that talks about eating disorders, and how pressures by society and the media contributes to how common eating disorders are. The post itself is a quote by an actress criticizing the pressure by Hollywood to be thin. So, in short, NOT COOL!

Leave a Reply

